Connecting gardens, groups and growers to create a more resilient food future in Darebin

Darebin Community Awards 2020 – CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Nominations are sought for individuals and groups who have made an outstanding contribution to the Darebin community.  The awards acknowledge the amazing community work that has been done to make a difference in Darebin during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Last year, Miranda Sharp was announced Darebin Citizen of the Year 2019 in recognition of her excellent work bringing local, sustainable food to the community through Melbourne Farmers Markets and as a founding member of the Melbourne Food Hub.

Please nominate your ‘local heroes’ and help us celebrate their contribution in 2020. Darebin Community Awards will be awarded in the following seven categories:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Sustainability Award
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Group of the Year
  • Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Community Leader of the Year
  • Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Emerging Young Community Leader of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

There is a new nomination category introduced last year 2019, Sustainability award. If you know an individual or group that has made a positive impact in our community, now is the time to consider nominating them for a Darebin Community Award.

Nominations opened  September 1, 2020 and close Friday February 11, 2021.   View the nomination form here.

For more information contact Bronwyn Ryan-Mercer 8470 8551 or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *